Welcome.
My account  Sign Up
0
Username: Password:
Forgot your Username or Password?
F.A.Q.
911 - Emergency Services
Billing
Caller ID and CNAM
Compatibility
Conference Room
Extensions (Sub-Accounts)
Faxing
Features
General
IVR - Automated Attendant
Local Number Portability
Online Account Management
PayPal
Phone Numbers
Products & Services
Rate Plans
Security
Setup
Signup & Login
Spam Call Filter
Telemarketer Block
Terms and Conditions
Toll Free Number Portability
Troubleshooting
Voicemail


SEARCH THE FAQ
Search:
Telemarketer Block
What does the Telemarketer Block Feature do? How does it work?
When the Telemarketer Block Feature is active, is there any way to have callers from known numbers bypass the automated message?
If I activate the Telemarketer Block Feature, am I 100% guaranteed to not receive any more Telemarketer/Robocalls?
The Telemarketer Block Feature is currently "greyed out" in the My Callcentric Portal, how do I activate it?
When using the Telemarketer Block Feature, am I billed for using the "Press X" prompt?




What does the Telemarketer Block Feature do? How does it work?
With our Telemarketer Block feature you can dramatically reduce and potentially eliminate unwanted telemarketing and robocalls.

When activated, inbound callers (to the DIDs that you have this feature activated on) will hear an automated message which will require them to press a specific key (1-9) in order to complete their call. Your Callcentric Phone WILL NOT begin to ring, until AFTER the inbound caller has successfully pressed the requisite key on their phone.
RETURN TO TOP


When the Telemarketer Block Feature is active, is there any way to have callers from known numbers bypass the automated message?
Yes. By configuring your friends, family, and colleagues' phone numbers into your Callcentric Phone Book and setting up a prioritized "Call Treatment" to route calls from these numbers directly to your phone, you can ensure that ONLY callers from unknown numbers will be prompted to press the requisite key (1-9) in order to complete their call.
RETURN TO TOP


If I activate the Telemarketer Block Feature, am I 100% guaranteed to not receive any more Telemarketer/Robocalls?
The Telemarketer Block Feature was developed in order to reduce/eliminate unwanted telemarketing and robocalls. While our in-house testing showed this feature to be extremely effective in eliminating unwanted telemarketing/robocalls; these results cannot be 100% guaranteed.
RETURN TO TOP


The Telemarketer Block Feature is currently "greyed out" in the My Callcentric Portal, how do I activate it?
If you see that the Telemarketer feature is grayed out and disabled then please check to see that you are not setting up your Call treatments with a Redirect call to: destination as one of the following:

  • Voice mail
  • Calling card
  • Error message
  • Busy Tone
  • Error message: Number disconnected

If using any other Redirect call to: destination you will be able to configure the telemarketer block. This is because the destinations listed above are ultimate end points that do not require human interaction.

If you still have further questions on this topic please contact us for further assistance.
RETURN TO TOP


When using the Telemarketer Block Feature, am I billed for using the "Press X" prompt?
If you use the Press X option with a Call Treatment then you will be billed according to the service you receive the call under. For per minute services you would be billed the per minute rate for the incoming service the number was received on. For unlimited numbers, there is no extra charge.

Why are you billed?: You are billed because the system needs to connect the call in order to determine which number was entered. We cannot provide this feature without the call actually being connected.

Remember you will ONLY incur per minute charges when using this feature with a Pay-Per Minute DID/number.

If you have more questions about billing, please open a trouble ticket on your account.
RETURN TO TOP